Wikidata:Deletion policy

From Wikidata
Jump to: navigation, search

Other languages:
العربية • ‎azərbaycanca • ‎বাংলা • ‎bosanski • ‎català • ‎dansk • ‎Deutsch • ‎Ελληνικά • ‎English • ‎español • ‎فارسی • ‎suomi • ‎français • ‎ગુજરાતી • ‎italiano • ‎日本語 • ‎ქართული • ‎한국어 • ‎Ripoarisch • ‎македонски • ‎Nederlands • ‎occitan • ‎polski • ‎português • ‎русский • ‎српски / srpski • ‎తెలుగు • ‎Türkçe • ‎中文

This page contains Wikidata's deletion policy. You can request a deletion at Wikidata:Properties for deletion (for properties) or at Wikidata:Requests for deletions (for other pages).

Deletion of items (Phase I)[edit]

Items may be deleted when:

  • The item does not meet notability requirements.
  • The item is clearly vandalism.
  • The item contains no data, or is blank.
  • Any other common-sense reason for deletion not listed above.
  • When discussion on ____ has lead to consensus to delete the item. Any such discussion would run for at least a week, and require ___ support.

Items should not be deleted when:

  • The item redirects to another item.

Deletion of other pages[edit]

Other pages may be deleted when:

  • The page is clearly vandalism or promotional material.
  • A user has requested deletion within their own user space.
  • Routine maintenance, such as removing obsolete MediaWiki messages.
  • When discussion on ____ has lead to consensus to delete the page. Any such discussion would run for at least a week, and require ___ support.

Deletion of translations[edit]

Translations of pages may be deleted for any of the reasons in the above section, by a user who is both a translation administrator and an administrator. Any administrator who is not a translation administrator may self-grant the rights to their account without a vote, as described on the translation administrator policy page.

Revision deletion[edit]

Admins can delete revisions or log entries when:

  • They reveal private or personal information, including a logged out user's IP address.
  • They contain a violation of copyright.
  • They contain defamatory content.
  • They contain harassment or other personal attacks of a serious nature.

In any case where oversight is warranted, admins are strongly encouraged to revision-delete the edits in question until the oversight can be performed; however, if privacy is a concern, they should avoid using summaries that draw greater attention to the edits, and should never use summaries that reference the specific content of the page. Remember also that "RevDels" show up in watchlists, whereas Oversights do not; admins are thus urged to use their discretion on a case-by-case basis, prioritizing a balance between redaction of sensitive information and not highlighting such information.


Admin policies